The Forgotten Ones
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Brian McGilloway
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-08-11 - Publisher: Harper Collins

From the New York Times bestselling author of Little Girl Lost comes a brand-new thriller featuring Lucy Black—a twisting, gripping story of secrets and lies, perfect for fans of Louise Penny and Tana French. The body of an elderly man is hauled out of the rushing water of the River Foyle, cold dead. Detective Lucy Black is called in to investigate when it becomes evident that this was not a suicide: the man's body was embalmed before it ever entered the water. Confounded and exhausted, Lucy heads home to review the case in quiet; but there will be no rest for her tonight. She's barely in the front door when a neighbor knocks because his wife's sister has been attacked and they need her help. As a string of strange crimes is unspooled throughout the city, Lucy is pulled in countless different directions… until she realizes there may be something dark and dangerous connecting everything. Soulful and suspenseful, featuring one of the most appealing characters in suspense fiction, The Forgotten Ones is a novel to take your breath away.
The Lost Girls
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Heather Young
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-05-20 - Publisher: CMC Verve

A stunning novel that examines the price of loyalty, the burden of regret, the meaning of salvation, and the sacrifices we make for those we love, told in the voices of two unforgettable women linked by a decades-old family mystery at a picturesque lake house. In 1935, six-year-old Emily Evans vanishes from her family's summer house on a remote Minnesota lake. Her disappearance destroys the family - her father takes his own life, and her mother and two older sisters spend the rest of their lives at the lake house, keeping a decades-long vigil for the lost child. Sixty years later, Lucy, the quiet and watchful middle sister, lives in the lake house alone. Before her death, she writes the story of that devastating summer in a notebook that she leaves, along with the house, to the only person who might care: her grandniece, Justine. For Justine, the lake house offers freedom and stability - a way to escape her manipulative boyfriend and give her daughters the home she never had. But the long Minnesota winter is just beginning. The house is cold and dilapidated. The dark, silent lake is isolated and eerie. Her only neighbor is a strange old man who seems to know more about the summer of 1935 than he's telling. Soon Justine's troubled oldest daughter becomes obsessed with Emily's disappearance, her absent mother reappears, and the man she left launches a dangerous plan to get her back. In a house haunted by the sorrows of the women who came before her, Justine must overcome their tragic legacy if she hopes to save herself and her children. 'The delicacy of [Young's] writing elevates the drama and gives her two central characters depth and backbone... For all the beauty of Young's writing, her novel is a dark one... and the murder mystery that drives it is as shocking as anything you're likely to read for a good long while' - New York Times Book Review 'An addictive, magnificently drawn tale of secrets, lies and tangled relationships, The Lost Girls is one of the most emotionally addictive books I've read in a long time, from the first page to its shocking finale. I read it in one greedy sitting' - Lisa Hall, bestselling author of The Party 'A story that is both eerie and incredibly sad... The Lost Girls is a poignant and engrossing thriller [and] a hugely impressive debut' - Carolyn Kirby, author of Times Historical Novel of the Year When We Fall 'The Lost Girls is a powerful and bruising drama that astutely explores the reverberations of a shocking event through the inextricable layers of family. The story unwinds with a slow but insidious unease, building relentlessly to its shattering and heart-breaking conclusion' - Philippa East, author of CWA Dagger-shortlisted Little White Lies 'A novel of quiet intensity that builds to a terrifying climax. The Lost Girls contains echoes of Kate Atkinson's Case Histories and is just as haunting' - Minneapolis Star Tribune 'Suspenseful and finely wrought, Young's tale is not easily forgotten' - Booklist 'This book has it all — intrigue, complicated relationships, and a thrilling plotline — and it will appeal to fans of longspanning '90s stories like Fried Green Tomatoes and Steel Magnolias' - Bustle
The Game
Language: en
Pages: 189
Authors: A.K. Shevchenko
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-09-13 - Publisher: Hachette UK

A taut thriller set against the turbulent history of Ukraine and the Crimea, giving fascinating and thought-provoking insight into the country's current crisis. It has been twenty-five years since the four friends left school, burdened with the dark secret of a game that ended in tragedy. Now, driven by love, loss and loyalty, they meet to play Tony's game once more. Tony, the mastermind, has planned the moves that will take each player across continents. The rules are the same, but they have grown up, and the stakes are much, much higher. They will be forced to open a forgotten page of history: the Crimea conference of 1945, where three world leaders divided up the world and created a new map of Europe after the Second World War. How are the secret talks of those leaders connected with this dangerous new game? And why has Tony decided to play again?
Colton's Deadly Engagement
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Addison Fox
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-02-01 - Publisher: Harlequin

A cop and his false fiancée track a serial killer A Coltons of Red Ridge story… After yet another groom-to-be is murdered in Red Ridge, K-9 cop Finn Colton comes up with a plan. He’ll fake an engagement to Darby Gage—to bait a criminal and investigate his suspect “fiancée.” But after brutal attempts on both their lives, Finn worries that he’s endangered the woman he’s falling for. Can he protect Darby and convince her to make their engagement real?
Counterplay
Language: en
Pages: 448
Authors: Robert K. Tanenbaum
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006-08-29 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Tanenbaum's last novel, Fury, ended with a breathtaking cliff-hanger. Now readers can enjoy the exciting conclusion -- bursting with more suspenseful twists -- in his latest, Counterplay. When betrayal results in the cold-blooded murder of a busload of schoolchildren to accomplish the escape from custody of vicious sociopath Andrew Kane, New York District Attorney Butch Karp finds himself embroiled in a raging quest for vengeance that could cost him, his family, and thousands of others their lives. With an intensive manhunt ongoing for the fugitive Kane, Karp and long-time colleague Ray Guma open a cold case and pursue murder charges against wealthy Manhattan power broker/banker Emil Stavros, whose socialite wife disappeared nearly fifteen years earlier. Meanwhile, Karp's wife, Marlene Ciampi, has let her fascination with her husband's lesser-known family comprised of Russian gangsters pull her into a dangerous world of Islamic terrorists, Chechen rebels, and Russian agents engaged in nefarious events straight out of today's real-world headlines. Yet again, Robert K. Tanenbaum writes a masterful thriller involving the most memorable -- and "un-put-downable" -- stories of corruption and courtroom confrontations. Counterplay, the latest book in the bestselling Butch Karp/Marlene Ciampi series, proves to be another full-bodied, riveting page-turner with yet another cliff-hanger not soon to be forgotten.